This is a new personal project.

As I walk my dogs or drive down the side streets of Cicero, I see many yards, porches, and steps with swan planters sitting there. It seems to be a “thing” here.

A few years ago, I started a Flickr photo set called Swans Around Town. I added a few photos and then let it slide to the back burner. I liked the idea back then and I still think its a fun idea, so I’ve started a new project. Instead of photography, I will do sketches in a Japanese Folding Moleskine called (what else) “Swans Around Town”. This Moleskine will be dedicated to drawings of swan planters. There are many different kinds of swan planters and I am here to document said swan planters in the summer, fall, winter, and spring. I think I am the first one ever to do so, but maybe not the last.

Swans Around Town Gallery

2 Comments Post your own or leave a trackback: Trackback URL

  1. Mary says:

    These sketches are wonderful! This is a unique project – I’m looking forward to seeing more of them!

Leave a Reply

The Naked Mole Rat

Latin: Heterocephalus Gabler.

Drawn In

Art • Nature • Exploration

story-a-week

Simple. One short story every week.

The Definitive Source

Activities dedicated to learning and practicing techniques for creating art.

beats the office

Travel - Adventure - Food

bookconscious

"Books are humanity in print." Barbara Tuchman

This and That Continued

Jenny Diski - Writing and stuff.

lucybluecastle

Prattle from author Lucy Blue

The Swedish African

A writer abroad

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

HeideBlog

Random observations about writing, photography, travel, and life

pipafineart.wordpress.com/

Helpful articles to improve your own nature and landscape photography explorations. You will also see stunning landscape and nature photographs created by award winning landscape and nature photographer Melissa Fague.

ARTE, SIMPLESMENTE...

Uma pausa na violência, na tristeza, no não-ser... Um olhar na beleza e nos olhares de quem a faz. Necessidade. Brilho. Paixão. É tudo.

